Anxiety: Fight the Fear [Infographic]

As you may already know, I have struggled with anxiety for just over a year now and I have so far managed to cope without the use of medication.
It is a tough trek and there are still bumps in the road every now and then, some worse than others.

On the occasions when it hits bad, I do struggle to maintain my usual routines, especially socially. I start feeling claustrophobic and trapped by all my anxieties, responsibilities and by the people around me demanding of my time and attention. Eventually I invariably have to take time away from people to concentrate on getting back on track.

I have recently just dragged myself out of a bad experience with my anxiety and this is what has prompted me to write this post.
Mental health is equally as important as physical and emotional health and with everything so intrinsically linked I feel it is important to address this and attempt to help others out there looking for the same guidance I was.

It has taken me a long time and a lot of research and reflection to figure out just what anxiety is; to pin point where my anxieties come from; what sparks them and what I can do to try to overcome them.

When it comes to overcoming my ‘blips’ with the anxiety, time and again it involves allowing myself the time to go through the necessary stages before taking control and picking myself up again.

Anyone struggling with any form of mental illness will understand that everyone has their own ways of dealing with their issues and there no miracle cure or sure-fire process to follow as everyone is different and what works for one will not work for another. With this in mind, there are steps I found that have really helped with managing my own recovery and I thought I would share them in the hope that they can help others struggling similarly.

resilience-and-anxiety

I hope this proves useful in some way to anyone who is struggling with similar issues.


I would like to add that I am not an expert, merely someone who struggles with anxiety and this is simply what I have found helps me with my process.


 

 

bakeshop-2

2 thoughts on “Anxiety: Fight the Fear [Infographic]

  1. I’m still trying to decide if I have anxiety or not. In my head, I’m tough as nails. But then my beloved Bengal dies…and I don’t know what to do other than throw myself back onto the ‘happy pills’ that I always feel I can do without. I’m an odd mix of super confident and hating myself, thinking I can deal with anything and breaking down over a commercial on TV. I’ve a very “traditional masculine” mindset, for a woman, and think I’m not allowed to cry or feel ‘out loud.’

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry to hear about your bengal- we have three and ours are the heart of our home. I can’t imagine life without them so my heart truly goes out to you. I assume the grief is partly contributing to how you are feeling?
      I can relate to the odd mix of feelings and definitely about not being able to cry or feel ‘out loud’. That is still something I struggle with however I have one really close friend that I feel comfortable dropping these barriers with. While I understand it must be difficult, I do suggest finding someone or some way to get these feelings out. Consistently holding them in (I find) is counter-productive to any steps you make towards picking yourself from where your anxiety leaves you.
      If you don’t feel you have anyone you can talk to then have you thought about writing a blog or keeping a diary? Transferring whats in your head to something or someone tangible is a good way of making sense of the confusion.
      I’m not sure if you’re interested however my partner created a YouTube channel of our cats and his ‘talking’ video always makes me smile. If you fancy a smile sometime, have a look and I am truly sorry to hear about your loss.

      Like

Leave a Reply

